It started out like any other day. A full day of college classes and then second shift at the restaurant. The world was still celebrating over the discovery of, not only a cure for Alzheimer’s and Dementia, but a vaccine as well. Just like polio, these diseases were going to be a thing of the past. Another vaccination a child would take growing up to ensure their quality of life in their elder years. No one would have to be lost to these life altering illness again.

I wasn’t lucky enough to be involved in the discovery. I was a first year bio-chemistry major at the University of Michigan – Ann Arbor. I wanted to be one of the chemists who discovered the cure so that I could have my dad back from Alzheimer’s. Mom was stuck at home in Stillwater, Oklahoma taking care of him. Now that one had been discovered, I didn’t really know what I was going to do with myself. I thought about moving home and getting to know my dad again, but mom wouldn’t let me. School was too important, she would say.

What I didn’t expect – what no one expected – was how lost the entire world was about to become. I lost a bit of myself not knowing what my purpose in life was anymore, but it was nothing compared to the chaos the vaccine brought. No one anticipated the reaction that some people would have to it. Not even the chemists who created and tested the concoction knew what they had unleashed. And only time would tell.

One thought on “Moonlite Clarity – Prologue

Leave a Reply

